Please tell me I'm not the only one who remembers that commercial. The woman in the lovely bubble filled tub who is blissfully soaking while images of all the other stuff going crazy around her float around her head? I want that
Calgon moment (without having to use calgon actually, nothing wrong with it, just kind of makes my skin itch). I especially want it since my day, which was all planned out, has so not gone as I wanted it to today.
I had a whole list of things that needed to get done today. Bank. Library. Post office. Grocery store. Job applications (time to look for employment for the fall if you are a teacher, which is what I have been doing all week). All so that I could be done with that list by sometime around 2:00 which would have given me time to tackle my sewing area. It's a disaster. If I was quick, I would even have had time to, gasp, sew today. Oh bliss.

And for those of you who don't believe me when I say how awful my sewing area currently is? (
gwen,
Nan, you know who you are) Um, let me show you JUST how bad it is. You see, I went out of town for five (only five really) days. My sewing "room" is also the eat-in dining room/kitchen. Now I did leave in a hurry and there were a few (just a few mind you) things piled here when I left. But, well, I came back to this. And -- in the just over a week and 1/2 since I've been back? Um -- I may have added just a bit to it (just a little mind you). But -- well, hey -- I've had a sick kid, a job fair, etc. going on.

Oh yeah, and I've had to work on digging out the REST of the house (trust me folks, those photos I'm scared to take -- the health department may just come and threaten to take Miss Tink away for her own safety). Now, some of this mess is mine, I will admit. But -- um, I don't remember putting the stuffed fish in my chair. Or the Olivia books hanging out there either. Hmmn...I wonder who thought that would be a good place for those things to hang out? I'm thinking she's adorable and about 3 feet tall, but still...

And just for yucks, how about a photo from the other side? If you squint really hard and look closely enough you MIGHT be able to see some fabric hanging out there. Maybe. I know there's a cutting mat somewhere under there as well -- somewhere. Where? I'm not entirely certain -- oh wait, I do see a small corner of it peeking out. Ah, good, it does still exist. I was beginning to wonder.

And
Libby's challenge to show our ironing boards on our blogs? Yeah -- I was thinking about that one -- and then realized that THIS is the state of my ironing board. I'll cop to the
Target bags (thanks
Suzanne for telling me about them -- reusable and a whole $.99 each -- wooo hooo). But, um, -- while I like Tinkerbell (the fairy as opposed to Miss Tinkerbell whom I love to pieces) -- the purse so does NOT match my ensemble. Any of my ensembles. Again, I wonder who it could belong to?

Though, since I was taking pictures I did manage to
shove aside move a few things to take a photo of the actual state of the pressing surface. It's not too bad really, then again -- this is just the wear since December when I replaced the darned cover. I go through about one new cover ever six months or so. I usually stick with the plain duck cloth covered ones because -- well, I destroy them. The last one went to ironing board cover heaven because of the holes I had burned through it. Yep -- I do love me some steam, but, well, um, it does take its toll.

So -- why am I here asking for a Calgon moment rather than working on the
huge honking mess that used to be my sewing area? Or better yet -- done with the
decontamination clean-up and blissfully sewing away? Miss Tinkerbell herself. I've spent the better part of my day at one Dr.'s office or another trying to have them find one of these. No, not the penny. The green thing. It's one of my
knitting stitch markers. Lovely little things, soft, simple. Great. I love it for marking stitches for my knitting.
So where were Dr.'s looking for it? Um, yeah, that would be up Miss Tink's nose. Go ahead. Laugh. I know I've been doing a lot of it today. There is a point at which things are so absurd you have to laugh. Right before leaving for daycare this morning she announced that she had shoved it up her nose. My husband looked, I looked, couldn't see it. Ok, off to convenient care. Um, yeah,
you remember that place right? Only this time, since I had a 2 year old to entertain, no knitting. UGH. And then, the convenient care Dr. couldn't find it either. Referral to the ear, nose throat specialist. Nope, not seeing it. So, a lovely scope (which I explained to Tink as a camera up her nose). All the while folks are asking -- are you sure she did it? And bad mother that I am -- "um, sure, I guess so" I'm taking the word of a 2 yo here folks. While the nose stuffing was occurring, I was upstairs throwing on my jeans and getting ready to drop her off at daycare -- I wasn't actually present. My husband was with her. On the plus side for the toddler's story -- she's pretty specific (pointed to which nostril and very sure about what color it was) oh, yeah, and my husband totally believed her so -- I'm going with it. When she's making up things -- usually it's NOT something she's going to get in trouble for. So, nothing on the scope either. Best guess is that she sniffed it back to her throat and has since swallowed it. Ok, so we get to (oh yuck) keep on eye on the poop situation and see if it comes out the other end. Fun. (we also get to keep an eye on her "booger" production and make sure it didn't go into her lungs and start an infection -- again -- joy oh joy).
On the plus side -- Miss Tinkerbell is a trooper and every single doctor and nurse was amazed at how cheerful (she gleefully told them it was a 'geen stich mawker' up her nose while pointing to her left nostril -- little scamp) and well behaved she was. Not a lick of complaint, even when they were shoving things up her nose and/or squirting liquids up there so they could get a better look. She was even polite and said "thank you" to the Dr.'s. ALMOST enough for me to forgive her for shoving it up there in the first place. Almost.
So, what did I get done today? Bank? If I hurry maybe. Food? Looks like we're going out to eat tonight. Library? What's one more day of late fees? Applications? They're online -- I can work on them tonight. Post office? Luckily open tomorrow -- sorry
Sharon and Aunt L. One more day. Sewing table? Um...yeah, pretty much the same state as in the photos. And, given the day I've had -- the applications may wait for tomorrow with the sewing table getting attention tonight. I NEED some fabric therapy. And hey, if I can get in some fabric therapy -- I may have a third package to send off tomorrow. Woo Hoo!
So -- Calgon? Nah -- I don't have any (though I do have some absolutely yummy
vanilla sugar scrub and
salts). I think tonight's stress relievers of choice will be some fabric play and some lovely hot chocolate. With
homemade marshmallows. (note -- the marshmallows are already made. And pink. Tinkerbell helped :0) ) And if a little bit of the
Irish manages to find its way into my mug? Yeah, just about perfect.
Oh, yes, I'm also going to be hiding all of my knitting supplies. ALL of them. I mean, this time it was a stitch marker. I don't want to KNOW where she would think of putting my bamboo double pointed needles. *shudder* Or my Addi's -- um, yeah. Lesson learned for Mom too -- don't leave ANY crafting supplies out where small one can get to them. Maybe a touch more of the Irish will be needed?!?